Gear guide
Best Wood Burning Tools With Adjustable Temperature Control
Picked from Amazon listings, not hands-on tests. How we pick
A fixed-heat pen has one setting, so the only way to burn lighter is to move faster. A wood burning tool with temperature control lets you turn the heat down for pale shading and soft wood, and up for dark lines and harder wood. The control comes in three forms: a dial built into a solid-point pen, a digital display on the pen itself, or a separate power unit (a station) that drives a light wire-nib pen and shows the setting on a read-out. Wire-nib burners heat and cool quickly and carry the highest stated figures; dial pens are simpler and take solid screw-in tips. This guide compares seven adjustable tools by the wattage, temperature range, tip type and tip count their listings state. Treat every range as the maker's own figure: craft pens are not calibrated, a read-out shows the setting rather than the tip, and the tip cools when it touches wood. Nothing here was tested by us. Start low on a scrap of the same wood and raise the heat until a steady stroke leaves a toast-brown line.
Compare the picks
| Pick | Wattage | Temp range | Tip type | Tips | Price | Link |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
YIHUA 939D-VII 2-in-1 station, solid and wire pens | not stated | 200-480 C and 250-750 C | Solid + wire | 25 solid + 23 wire | - | Amazon |
WEP 939D-V wire-nib station, 30 W, LED read-out | 30 W | 250-750 C / 482-1382 F | Wire | 20 | - | Amazon |
FIRElood digital wire burner, 1 pen, 30 wire tips | not stated | 25-750 C | Wire | 30 | - | Amazon |
WANDART 60 W dual-pen wire burner, 20 wire tips | 60 W | 0-1550 F | Wire | 20 | - | Amazon |
Foxgor 100 W pen with LED display, 180-500 C | 100 W | 180-500 C | Solid | 9 | - | Amazon |
Woodland Home kit, dial pen 200-450 C, 27 tips | not stated | 200-450 C | Solid | 27 | - | Amazon |
LUMINZENLUX 60-piece kit, 80 W pen, dial 200-500 C | 80 W | 200-500 C | Solid | 51 + 5 blades | - | Amazon |
Facts are taken from each Amazon listing. Prices are checked daily and shown with their date.
If you just want one
- Closest match for the jobYIHUA 939D-VII 2-in-1 station, solid and wire pensTwo pens on one station that can be used individually or at the same time, each with a digital read-out.
- Most for the money on paperFIRElood digital wire burner, 1 pen, 30 wire tipsDigital temperature display on the unit, with a range the title gives as 25 to 750 C.
- Most complete listingWEP 939D-V wire-nib station, 30 W, LED read-outListing states the rated power, 30 W, and the range, 250 to 750 C (482 to 1382 F), set by a knob.
The picks in detail

Pick 1 · YIHUA
YIHUA 939D-VII 2-in-1 station, solid and wire pens
See price on AmazonA two-pen station: a solid-point pen adjustable from 200 to 480 C and a wire-nib detailer from 250 to 750 C, each with a digital temperature read-out. It includes 25 solid points and 23 wire nibs.
What the listing offers
- Two pens on one station that can be used individually or at the same time, each with a digital read-out.
- Stated heat-up: 2 to 3 minutes to the set temperature for the solid-point pen, 1 to 2 minutes for the wire-nib pen.
- Includes 25 solid burning tips, 23 wire nibs, a screwdriver, precision pliers and 4 practice wood pieces.
Limits to know
- Wattage is not stated in the listing for either pen.
- A two-pen station with 48 tips is more than a first pen needs, and it is rated for 110 to 127 V 60 Hz only.

Pick 2 · WEP
WEP 939D-V wire-nib station, 30 W, LED read-out
See price on AmazonSingle pen wire-nib station rated at 30 W, with a knob and an LED read-out of the temperature setting from 250 to 750 C. A compact first pyrography machine for line work and shading with one pen.
What the listing offers
- Listing states the rated power, 30 W, and the range, 250 to 750 C (482 to 1382 F), set by a knob.
- LED read-out shows the current temperature setting, and the pen is detachable for replacement.
- Comes with 20 wire-nib tips, a pen stand, a nib tin, tweezers, a screwdriver and 2 wood pieces.
Limits to know
- One pen only, so moving from a writing nib to a shader means changing the tip each time.
- Rated for 110 to 127 V US power only; the listing warns not to connect it to a 220 V socket.

Pick 3 · FIRElood
FIRElood digital wire burner, 1 pen, 30 wire tips
See price on AmazonA digital wire-nib wood burning machine for 110 V with one pen and 30 wire tips. The title gives 25 to 750 C with a digital temperature display, and the listing says the tip heats in under 5 to 10 seconds at the top setting.
What the listing offers
- Digital temperature display on the unit, with a range the title gives as 25 to 750 C.
- 30 wire tips in different shapes, a pen shelf, a screwdriver and a cleaning sponge are included.
- The listing says the pen tip heats up in less than 5 to 10 seconds when set to the highest temperature.
Limits to know
- The title says 750 C while a bullet says the highest temperature can reach 700 C, and wattage is not stated.
- The listing recommends setting the highest temperature first and then lowering it, the opposite of starting low on scrap.

Pick 4 · WANDART
WANDART 60 W dual-pen wire burner, 20 wire tips
See price on AmazonA 60 W dual pen pyrography kit with a stated range up to 1550 F, 20 wire tips including ball tips, and 5 stencils. The highest stated power in this guide, for burners who want more heat in reserve.
What the listing offers
- Listing states 60 W and a temperature that adjusts from 0 to 1550 F, the widest stated range here.
- Two pyrography pens on one unit: flip the switch to the other port to use a second tip.
- Comes with 20 wire nib tips, including shading, ball and pointed tips, and 5 stencils.
Limits to know
- The stated range starts at 0 F, so the listing gives no usable figure for the lowest working heat.
- The included list names pens, 20 tips and 5 stencils only; no pen holder, tweezers or practice wood is mentioned.

Pick 5 · Foxgor
Foxgor 100 W pen with LED display, 180-500 C
See price on AmazonA pen-type burner with the LED temperature display and adjustment on the handle, so there is no separate station. The listing states 100 W, a ceramic core, 180 to 500 C and heating in 15 seconds; 9 tips are included.
What the listing offers
- LED digital display on the pen itself, with an adjustable range stated as 180 to 500 C.
- Stated 100 W inner-heated ceramic core that the listing says heats in 15 seconds.
- Comes with 9 assorted tips, 1 hot chuck, 10 carbon papers, a holder, a cleaning sponge and a tip storage box.
Limits to know
- The listing also sells it as a soldering iron, and only 9 wood burning tips are included.
- The listing states 180 to 500 C but gives 392 to 932 F as the Fahrenheit range, which corresponds to 200 to 500 C.

Pick 6 · Woodland Home
Woodland Home kit, dial pen 200-450 C, 27 tips
See price on AmazonA cased kit around a 110 V adjustable pen with a stated 200 to 450 C range. It includes 27 wood burning tips, a cutting blade, an alphanumeric stencil, a pen holder and a hard case, and the listing stresses the long cord.
What the listing offers
- Adjustable heat setting stated as 200 to 450 C on a 110 V pyrography pen.
- 27 wood burning tips, a cutting blade, an alphanumeric stencil and a pen holder come in a hard case.
- The listing describes a lightweight pen with a long cord and states a lifetime replacement warranty.
Limits to know
- Wattage is not stated and no display is mentioned, so the dial is the only guide to the setting.
- The 450 C ceiling is the lowest top figure on this page, well below the wire-nib burners.

Pick 7 · LUMINZENLUX
LUMINZENLUX 60-piece kit, 80 W pen, dial 200-500 C
See price on AmazonA 60-piece kit in a metal case built around an 80 W adjustable pen with a ceramic core and a dial for 200 to 500 C. It carries 51 wood burning tips and 5 blades: more accessories than control features.
What the listing offers
- Stated 80 W pen with a fast-heating ceramic core and a dial range of 200 to 500 C.
- The listing says the core reaches the desired temperature in tens of seconds.
- 51 wood burning tips, 5 blades and a safety stand are packed in a metal case.
Limits to know
- No temperature display is mentioned, so the dial position is the only reference for the setting.
- A little-known brand with a long accessory list: most of the 60 pieces are tips rather than control features.
Read before you buy
- Best Wood for Pyrography: 12 Species Compared in One ChartBasswood is the standard wood for pyrography. One chart of 12 species: Janka hardness, color and grain, how each burns and the heat band to start in.
- Wood Burning Tool vs Soldering Iron: Differences and When Each WorksWood burning tool vs soldering iron: heat range, tip metal, threads and control compared, and when an iron can burn wood or a pen can solder.
- Wood Burning Tips for Beginners: What to Get Right on Your First Pieces15 wood burning tips for beginners in three groups of 5: wood and setup, heat and hand speed, shading and finishing. With grits, warm-up time and heat bands.
- Wood Burning Pen Not Working or Not Getting Hot: Causes and FixesWood burning pen not heating, burning weakly or cutting out? A symptom table and 8 checks in order, from the outlet and dial to carbon and the element.
- Using a Wood Burning Pen on Felt Hats: Tools, Heat and TechniqueHow to use a wood burning pen on a felt hat: which felt sources accept or reject, the tips and heat to start with, chalk layout and a 9-step method.
More gear for the pen and setup stage
Burn and Grain chooses every product independently from what its Amazon listing states. We may earn a commission from the links above. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.