Gear guide
Best Wood Burning Kit for Beginners: Starter Pens Compared
Picked from Amazon listings, not hands-on tests. How we pick
A first wood burning kit has to do two things: get hot enough to leave a steady brown line, and not bury you in parts you will never use. Most starter kits are built around a solid-point wood burning pen, made like a soldering iron with screw-in tips. They differ in whether the pen has a temperature dial, how many tips come with it, and whether a stand and practice wood are in the box. A dial matters more than a long parts list: the pen and a handful of tips do the burning, so a 100-piece kit mostly adds stencils, pencils and soldering tips rather than a better pen. This guide compares seven wood burning kits for beginners by the wattage, temperature range, tip type (solid or wire) and tip count their listings state, including one wire-nib burner for those who want to start on that kind of pyrography pen. Nothing here was tested by us. Where a listing leaves a figure out, the table says not stated, and any range a maker gives is its own figure, not a calibrated one.
Compare the picks
| Pick | Wattage | Temp range | Tip type | Tips | Price | Link |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
K KERNOWO 23-piece kit, dial 200-450 C, 14 tips | not stated | 200-450 C | Solid | 14 | - | Amazon |
WEP 939D-V wire-nib station, 30 W, LED read-out | 30 W | 250-750 C / 482-1382 F | Wire | 20 | - | Amazon |
ArtSkills 16-piece kit, dial pen, 12 tips, hot knife | not stated | Dial, range not stated | Solid | 12 + 2 knife blades | - | Amazon |
Weller 25 W woodburning kit, 15 pieces | 25 W | not stated | Solid | not stated | - | Amazon |
Craft Culture beginners kit, 40+ pieces, 5 tips | not stated | not stated | Solid | 5 | - | Amazon |
Plaid wood burning and stencil cutting tool, 6 tips | not stated | Up to 750 degrees | Solid, stencil cutting | 4 + 2 stencil cutting | - | Amazon |
ACRSIKR adjustable pen, 6 tips plus hot knife | not stated | Adjustable, not stated | Solid, hot knife | 6 + hot knife | - | Amazon |
Facts are taken from each Amazon listing. Prices are checked daily and shown with their date.
If you just want one
- Closest match for the jobK KERNOWO 23-piece kit, dial 200-450 C, 14 tipsThe listing states an adjustable range of 200 to 450 C set with a control knob, plus an LED power indicator.
- Most for the money on paperArtSkills 16-piece kit, dial pen, 12 tips, hot knifeTemperature control dial on the pen, described for use on wood, leather, foam or fabric.
- Most complete listingWEP 939D-V wire-nib station, 30 W, LED read-outListing states the rated power, 30 W, and the range, 250 to 750 C (482 to 1382 F), set by a knob.
The picks in detail

Pick 1 · K KERNOWO
K KERNOWO 23-piece kit, dial 200-450 C, 14 tips
See price on AmazonA 23-piece wood burning kit built around a pen with a control knob for 200 to 450 C. It comes with 14 tips, a stand, a tip box and 4 blank wooden blocks, so a beginner has wood to practice on from the start.
What the listing offers
- The listing states an adjustable range of 200 to 450 C set with a control knob, plus an LED power indicator.
- Includes 14 tips for outlining, shading, calligraphy, texture and stamping, with a stand, a tip box and a pouch.
- Four blank wooden blocks are in the box, and the pen has a heat shield and a soft anti-slip rubber handle.
Limits to know
- Wattage is not stated in the listing, so it cannot be compared with the 25 W and 30 W pens on this page.
- The listing asks for a 1 to 3 minute preheat, and the 200 to 450 C range is the maker's figure, not a calibrated one.

Pick 2 · WEP
WEP 939D-V wire-nib station, 30 W, LED read-out
See price on AmazonSingle pen wire-nib station rated at 30 W, with a knob and an LED read-out of the temperature setting from 250 to 750 C. A compact first pyrography machine for line work and shading with one pen.
What the listing offers
- Listing states the rated power, 30 W, and the range, 250 to 750 C (482 to 1382 F), set by a knob.
- LED read-out shows the current temperature setting, and the pen is detachable for replacement.
- Comes with 20 wire-nib tips, a pen stand, a nib tin, tweezers, a screwdriver and 2 wood pieces.
Limits to know
- One pen only, so moving from a writing nib to a shader means changing the tip each time.
- Rated for 110 to 127 V US power only; the listing warns not to connect it to a 220 V socket.

Pick 3 · ArtSkills
ArtSkills 16-piece kit, dial pen, 12 tips, hot knife
See price on AmazonA 16-piece kit with a temperature dial pen, 12 interchangeable tips and a hot knife adapter with 2 blades. A compact starter for wood, leather and cork that can also cut foam, rope and plastic.
What the listing offers
- Temperature control dial on the pen, described for use on wood, leather, foam or fabric.
- 12 interchangeable tips for outlining, shading and calligraphy, plus a hot knife adapter with 2 blade tips.
- Lightweight pen with a soft-grip handle and a heat shield, packed in a gift-ready box.
Limits to know
- Neither the wattage nor the temperature range behind the dial is stated in the listing.
- The 16 pieces add up to the pen, 12 tips, the adapter and 2 blades: no stand or practice wood is named in the listing.

Pick 4 · Weller
Weller 25 W woodburning kit, 15 pieces
See price on AmazonA 15-piece, 25 W / 120 V woodburning kit from Weller with a stay-cool handle, a heat deflector and an on-board safety rest. A plain plug-in pen for wood and leather embossing, with no dial mentioned.
What the listing offers
- Wattage and voltage are stated in the title: 25 W at 120 V, in a 15-piece kit.
- Stay-cool handle and a heat deflector that the listing says turns heat away from the hand.
- Integrated on-board rest holds the iron when not in use, and the listing names a quick tip change.
Limits to know
- The listing mentions no dial and no temperature figure: this is a fixed-heat pen, so shade is controlled by hand speed.
- The bullets do not say how many of the 15 pieces are tips or which tip shapes are included.

Pick 5 · Craft Culture
Craft Culture beginners kit, 40+ pieces, 5 tips
See price on AmazonA guided project kit aimed at kids and teens: a woodburning tool with a stand and 5 tips, 8 pre-sanded wood plaques, pencils, templates and a booklet that walks through 8 projects.
What the listing offers
- Includes 8 pre-sanded wood plaques in large and small sizes, so there is wood to burn straight away.
- Step-by-step booklet, 6 traceable design templates, a letter stencil and carbon paper for transferring designs.
- The tool has a rubber grip, a finger safety guard and a tool stand, and plugs into a standard wall outlet.
Limits to know
- No wattage, temperature figure or dial is mentioned in the listing, and only 5 tips are included.
- The title aims it at kids and teenagers, so an adult beginner may prefer a pen with a dial and more tips.

Pick 6 · Plaid
Plaid wood burning and stencil cutting tool, 6 tips
See price on AmazonA small set from Plaid: 1 wood burning tool, 1 stand, 4 wood burning tips and 2 stencil cutting tips. The listing says it heats up to 750 degrees and is for adult use only.
What the listing offers
- Short, clear contents list: one tool, one stand, 4 wood burning tips and 2 stencil cutting tips.
- The listing states the tool heats up to 750 degrees and says to let a tip cool completely before changing it.
- Described for cutting stencils, transferring images and soldering as well as wood burning.
Limits to know
- No dial is mentioned and wattage is not stated; the 750 figure is given without saying Fahrenheit or Celsius.
- Only 4 wood burning tips are included, and there is no practice wood in the set.

Pick 7 · ACRSIKR
ACRSIKR adjustable pen, 6 tips plus hot knife
See price on AmazonA pared-down kit: one adjustable-temperature pyrography pen, 6 wood burning tips, 1 hot knife and a pen holder. It suits a beginner who wants a dial without a box of extras.
What the listing offers
- The listing describes the pen as adjustable temperature, with a lightweight, ergonomic handle.
- The package is stated plainly: 1 pen, 6 wood burning tips, 1 hot knife and 1 pen holder.
- A one year warranty on the burning tool is stated in the listing.
Limits to know
- Neither the temperature range nor the wattage is given, and the brand is little known.
- No practice wood, stencils or transfer paper are included, and the bullets give few details on the tip shapes.
Read before you buy
- Best Wood for Pyrography: 12 Species Compared in One ChartBasswood is the standard wood for pyrography. One chart of 12 species: Janka hardness, color and grain, how each burns and the heat band to start in.
- Wood Burning Without a Wood Burning Tool: Gel, Marker and Other MethodsFour ways to get a burned design without a wood burning pen: gel, scorch marker, soldering iron and torch, compared by what you need, control and risk.
- Wood Burning Tool vs Soldering Iron: Differences and When Each WorksWood burning tool vs soldering iron: heat range, tip metal, threads and control compared, and when an iron can burn wood or a pen can solder.
- Wood Burning Tips for Beginners: What to Get Right on Your First Pieces15 wood burning tips for beginners in three groups of 5: wood and setup, heat and hand speed, shading and finishing. With grits, warm-up time and heat bands.
- Wood Burning Pen Not Working or Not Getting Hot: Causes and FixesWood burning pen not heating, burning weakly or cutting out? A symptom table and 8 checks in order, from the outlet and dial to carbon and the element.
More gear for the pen and setup stage
Burn and Grain chooses every product independently from what its Amazon listing states. We may earn a commission from the links above. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.