Gear guide

Best Wood Burning Markers: Scorch Pens and Chemical Burn Pens

Picked from Amazon listings, not hands-on tests. How we pick

A wood burning marker, also sold as a scorch marker, scorch pen or chemical wood burning pen, gives a burned look without a hot pyrography pen near your hands. You draw with a heat-activated fluid, then heat the lines until they darken. A heat gun is required: Scorch Marker says the reaction needs about 350 F and a heat gun of at least 1500 W, and that a hair dryer is not hot enough. The markers differ mainly in tips (a bullet plus a brush, a double-sided pen, or a tip the listing does not describe), in how many come in the pack, and in how much the listing tells you. None of the listings here states how much fluid a marker holds. The fluid bleeds on soft or rough wood, so sand smooth first (Scorch Marker asks for at least 320 grit) and try a scrap. This guide compares six markers and marker packs by tip type, count, the heat source named and the surfaces listed. Nothing was tested. Heat in a well-ventilated area, wear eye protection and never touch the heat gun nozzle.

Compare the picks

If you just want one

The picks in detail

Pick 1 · Scorch Marker

Scorch Marker Pro, bullet and brush tips, 1 marker

See price on Amazon

The brand-name wood burning marker: one pen with a bullet tip for lines and lettering and a brush tip for fills and shading. Its listing is the most specific here, naming a 1500 watt heat gun and the surfaces it works on.

What the listing offers

  • Two tips in one marker: a bullet tip for crisp lines and lettering and a brush tip for fills and shading.
  • The listing names the heat source, a 1500 watt heat gun, and says the marker is patented and made in the USA.
  • Stated to work on wood, paper, cardstock, leather and denim; the listing calls it non-toxic and food contact safe.

Limits to know

  • A single marker, and the listing does not state how much fluid it holds or how many projects it covers.
  • The listing does not say whether replacement tips are included or sold separately.
See it on AmazonListing title: Scorch Marker Pro, The Original Heat Activated Wood Burning Marker, 2 ...

Pick 2 · Scorch Marker

Scorch Marker Pro 3 pack, bullet and brush tips

See price on Amazon

Three of the same Scorch Marker Pro pens in one pack, each with a bullet tip and a brush tip. The listing aims it at makers who burn often and do not want to run dry in the middle of a project.

What the listing offers

  • Three markers in the pack, each with a bullet tip for lines and a brush tip for fills and shading.
  • Same stated heat source as the single marker: hot air from a 1500 watt heat gun.
  • Listed surfaces are wood, paper, cardstock, leather, denim and gourds; the listing calls it non-toxic and food contact safe.

Limits to know

  • The same marker as the single pack, only in a larger count: there is no difference in tips or fluid.
  • Fluid volume per marker is not stated, so the pack cannot be compared with others by amount of fluid.
See it on AmazonListing title: Scorch Marker Pro 3 Pack, Wood Burning Pens for Crafts, Heat Activated

Pick 3 · EIGTWEN

EIGTWEN wood burn marker pens, double-sided, 4 pcs

See price on Amazon

Four double-sided wood burn marker pens. The listing aims them at small wooden signs and detailed patterns and gives the steps: smooth wood, shake, press the tip down until the ink flows, draw, then heat with a heat gun.

What the listing offers

  • Four pens in the pack, each described as a double-sided burning marker pen.
  • The listing gives the steps: choose smooth wood, shake the pen, press the tip down so ink flows, draw, then heat with a heat gun.
  • Named uses include cutting boards, logs, hang tags, coasters, tables and chairs; the listing calls the ink formula non-toxic.

Limits to know

  • The listing says double-sided but does not say what the two tips are (bullet, brush or fine) or how wide they are.
  • No heat gun wattage or temperature is given, and it names cutting boards without any food-contact statement.
See it on AmazonListing title: EIGTWEN 4pcs Wood Burn Marker Pens, Free Drawing and Creation

Pick 4 · ProsperLoop

ProsperLoop heat-activated wood burn pens, 3 pack

See price on Amazon

A 3-pack of heat-activated wood burning markers for wood, wood slices and cardstock. The listing covers the method (shake, press the tip to release the ink, draw, heat with a heat gun) but does not describe the tip.

What the listing offers

  • Three markers in the pack; the listing says they work on wood, wood slices and cardstock.
  • Method stated in the listing: shake the pen well, gently press the tip to release the ink, draw, then apply heat with a heat gun.
  • Named projects in the title are wood slices, logs and cutting boards.

Limits to know

  • Tip type and width are not stated, so line thickness cannot be compared with the other markers.
  • The listing claims no fading outdoors but cites no test or standard, and it gives no heat gun wattage.
See it on AmazonListing title: Wood Burn Pen for Pyrography Art - Heat-Activated Wood Burning Marker ...

Pick 5 · Generic

Unbranded wood burning marker pens, PET tips, 3 pcs

See price on Amazon

A box of three wood burning marker pens with PET tips, sold under a generic brand name. The listing aims them at small wooden signs and intricate patterns and gives a four-step method.

What the listing offers

  • One box holds 3 wood burning marker pens with PET tips, which the listing says allow detailed and accurate sketching.
  • Four steps are given: smooth the wood surface with sandpaper, shake the pen well, draw the design, then heat it.
  • The listing gives a size of 4.33 x 1.57 x 0.59 inches and describes the set as lightweight and easy to store.

Limits to know

  • Sold under a generic brand name, so there is no maker to check instructions or safety data with.
  • The heat source is called only a heater: no heat gun wattage or temperature is stated.
See it on AmazonListing title: 3PCS Wood Burning Marker Pen Kit, Pyrography Art Tool with PET Tips - ...

Pick 6 · TECHPLUS

TECHPLUS wood burn pens for pyrography, 3 pieces

See price on Amazon

Three woodburning markers with a short listing: draw on a smooth wooden surface, then heat with a heat gun or another heat source. A basic pack for trying the chemical method on coasters, name tags or logs.

What the listing offers

  • Three pens in the pack, described as compact, portable and lightweight.
  • The listing allows a heat gun or another heat source after drawing on a smooth wooden surface.
  • Named projects are cutting boards, logs, name tags, coasters and furniture.

Limits to know

  • Nothing in the listing describes the tip, the fluid or how to start the ink flowing.
  • Cutting boards are named as a project, but the listing makes no food-contact statement and gives no heat figure.
See it on AmazonListing title: TECHPLUS 3 Pieces Wood Burn Pen for Pyrography Art | Portable Woodburn...

Read before you buy

More gear for the marker and gel stage

Burn and Grain chooses every product independently from what its Amazon listing states. We may earn a commission from the links above. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.