Gear guide
Best Wire Tip Wood Burners: Pyrography Machines Compared
Picked from Amazon listings, not hands-on tests. How we pick
A wire tip wood burner is a different machine from a solid-point pen: a power unit with a dial feeds a light pen whose tip is a loop of bent nichrome wire, so it heats and cools quickly and draws finer lines. If you are moving up from a brass-tip pen, the budget pyrography machines here differ in four ways a listing can state: rated power, temperature range, one pen or two, and how many wire nibs are included. A dual pen station keeps a writing tip on one pen and a shader on the other and switches with a toggle; a 2-in-1 station adds a solid-point pen for transfer and stamp tips. A dial figure is the maker's setting, not a measured tip temperature, so test on scrap of the same wood. Razertip, Colwood and Burnmaster units sit in a higher price class and are not covered here. Nothing below was tested: every detail comes from the Amazon listings, and where a listing gives no wattage the table says so.
Compare the picks
| Pick | Power | Temperature | Pens | Tips | Price | Link |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
YIHUA 939-VI dual pen station, 23 wire nibs | not stated | 250-750 C / 482-1382 F | 2 wire-nib pens | 23 wire nibs | - | Amazon |
WEP 939D-VI dual pen station with LED display | not stated | 250-750 C / 482-1382 F | 2 wire-nib pens | 20 wire nibs | - | Amazon |
WEP 939D-V wire-nib station, 30 W, LED read-out | - | - | - | 20 | - | Amazon |
WANDART 60 W dual-pen wire burner, 20 wire tips | - | - | - | 20 | - | Amazon |
WEP 939D-II 2-in-1 station, solid and wire pens | not stated | 250-750 C (wire pen) | 1 wire-nib + 1 solid-point | 20 wire + 51 solid | - | Amazon |
YIHUA 939-II single pen station, 20 wire nibs | not stated | 250-750 C / 482-1382 F | 1 wire-nib pen | 20 wire nibs | - | Amazon |
FIRElood digital station, 2 pens, 30 pen tips | not stated | 25-750 C (title) | 2 pens | 30 pen tips | - | Amazon |
Facts are taken from each Amazon listing. Prices are checked daily and shown with their date.
If you just want one
- Closest match for the jobYIHUA 939-VI dual pen station, 23 wire nibsTwo wire-nib pens: fit a different tip on Pen A and Pen B and toggle between them, per the listing.
- Most for the money on paperWEP 939D-V wire-nib station, 30 W, LED read-outListing states the rated power, 30 W, and the range, 250 to 750 C (482 to 1382 F), set by a knob.
- Most complete listingWEP 939D-VI dual pen station with LED displayTwo detachable wire-nib pens with an A/B toggle switch, so two regularly used nibs stay installed.
The picks in detail

Pick 1 · YIHUA
YIHUA 939-VI dual pen station, 23 wire nibs
See price on AmazonDual pen wire-nib station: fit different tips on Pen A and Pen B and toggle between them. Adjustable from 482 to 1382 F, with 23 wire nibs in varied shapes, 6 wood pieces and 6 stencils.
What the listing offers
- Two wire-nib pens: fit a different tip on Pen A and Pen B and toggle between them, per the listing.
- Temperature is adjustable from 482 to 1382 F (250 to 750 C), as the listing states.
- Includes 23 wire nib tips in varied shapes, 6 wood pieces, 6 stencils, tweezers and a screwdriver.
Limits to know
- No wattage is stated in the listing text, so the power unit cannot be compared with the 30 W and 60 W stations.
- Rated for 110 to 127 V 60 Hz with a US-standard plug only, as the listing notes.

Pick 2 · WEP
WEP 939D-VI dual pen station with LED display
See price on AmazonDual pen wire-nib station with an A/B toggle and an LED display of the temperature setting, 250 to 750 C. For burners who switch between two nibs often and want a number to return to.
What the listing offers
- Two detachable wire-nib pens with an A/B toggle switch, so two regularly used nibs stay installed.
- Knob-set range of 250 to 750 C (482 to 1382 F), with an LED display showing the current setting.
- Includes a dual-barrel pen holder, 20 wire-nib tips, a tip tin, tweezers, a screwdriver and 2 wood pieces.
Limits to know
- The listing text gives no wattage for this model, unlike the single pen 939D-V from the same brand.
- The listing itself warns that a loosely installed tip may give poor temperature performance.

Pick 3 · WEP
WEP 939D-V wire-nib station, 30 W, LED read-out
See price on AmazonSingle pen wire-nib station rated at 30 W, with a knob and an LED read-out of the temperature setting from 250 to 750 C. A compact first pyrography machine for line work and shading with one pen.
What the listing offers
- Listing states the rated power, 30 W, and the range, 250 to 750 C (482 to 1382 F), set by a knob.
- LED read-out shows the current temperature setting, and the pen is detachable for replacement.
- Comes with 20 wire-nib tips, a pen stand, a nib tin, tweezers, a screwdriver and 2 wood pieces.
Limits to know
- One pen only, so moving from a writing nib to a shader means changing the tip each time.
- Rated for 110 to 127 V US power only; the listing warns not to connect it to a 220 V socket.

Pick 4 · WANDART
WANDART 60 W dual-pen wire burner, 20 wire tips
See price on AmazonA 60 W dual pen pyrography kit with a stated range up to 1550 F, 20 wire tips including ball tips, and 5 stencils. The highest stated power in this guide, for burners who want more heat in reserve.
What the listing offers
- Listing states 60 W and a temperature that adjusts from 0 to 1550 F, the widest stated range here.
- Two pyrography pens on one unit: flip the switch to the other port to use a second tip.
- Comes with 20 wire nib tips, including shading, ball and pointed tips, and 5 stencils.
Limits to know
- The stated range starts at 0 F, so the listing gives no usable figure for the lowest working heat.
- The included list names pens, 20 tips and 5 stencils only; no pen holder, tweezers or practice wood is mentioned.

Pick 5 · WEP
WEP 939D-II 2-in-1 station, solid and wire pens
See price on AmazonA 2-in-1 station with one wire-nib pen and one solid-point pen that can be on at the same time, plus 20 wire nibs and 51 solid points. For burners who want fine wire detail and solid tips for transfer and shading in one unit.
What the listing offers
- Two different detachable pens, one solid-point and one wire-nib, that can be turned on at the same time.
- Wire-nib pen is adjustable from 250 to 750 C via an analog dial, as the listing states.
- 86-piece kit: 20 wire-nib tips, 51 solid-point tips, 2 stencils, 2 wood pieces, a top-mounted holder, a tin and a sponge.
Limits to know
- No wattage is stated in the listing text for either pen, so heating power cannot be compared.
- The largest kit here: a buyer who only wants wire nibs also gets 51 solid points and a second pen they may not use.

Pick 6 · YIHUA
YIHUA 939-II single pen station, 20 wire nibs
See price on AmazonSingle pen pyrography station with a control knob covering 482 to 1382 F and 20 nibs in skew, wire and shader shapes. A starter wire burner that also packs stencils and scrap wood.
What the listing offers
- Adjustable from 482 to 1382 F (250 to 750 C) with the control knob, as the listing states.
- Includes 20 different nibs, described as skew, wire and shader shapes, for lines, stippling and shading.
- Kit adds a pen holder, 2 stencils, 2 pieces of scrap wood, stainless tweezers and pliers.
Limits to know
- The listing text does not state the wattage of the station, so power cannot be compared.
- Single pen station: there is no second pen to keep a different nib ready during a piece.

Pick 7 · FIRElood
FIRElood digital station, 2 pens, 30 pen tips
See price on AmazonStation with a digital temperature display, two pyrography pens and 30 nib shapes. The title gives 25 to 750 C while a bullet says the highest temperature is 700 C; for buyers who want the most tips in the box.
What the listing offers
- Digital display of the temperature, with a title range of 25 to 750 C on 110 V power.
- Kit lists two pyrography pens, 30 pen tips, a pen shelf, a screwdriver and a cleaning sponge.
- Handle is described as heat-insulating material with a bakelite block and a soft non-slip silicone cover.
Limits to know
- The listing contradicts itself: the title says up to 750 C, a bullet says the highest temperature is 700 C.
- No wattage is stated, and the listing does not say whether the two pens are switched or used together.
Read before you buy
- Wood Burning Tool vs Soldering Iron: Differences and When Each WorksWood burning tool vs soldering iron: heat range, tip metal, threads and control compared, and when an iron can burn wood or a pen can solder.
- Best Wood Burning Tip for Writing, Lettering and Fine LinesThe wood burning tip for each lettering job: flow or ball for script, calligraphy for thick-thin strokes, skew for straight lines, plus 7 burning steps.
- Wood Burning Pen Not Working or Not Getting Hot: Causes and FixesWood burning pen not heating, burning weakly or cutting out? A symptom table and 8 checks in order, from the outlet and dial to carbon and the element.
- Using a Wood Burning Pen on Felt Hats: Tools, Heat and TechniqueHow to use a wood burning pen on a felt hat: which felt sources accept or reject, the tips and heat to start with, chalk layout and a 9-step method.
- How to Shade Pyrography: Shader Tips, Heat Settings and StrokesShade pyrography with a shader tip one heat band cooler than your lines, built up in 3 to 5 light passes. Tips, strokes, a practice strip and blotch fixes.
More gear for the pen and setup stage
Burn and Grain chooses every product independently from what its Amazon listing states. We may earn a commission from the links above. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.