# Best Wood Burning Tool for Cutting Deco Mesh Without Fraying

Source: https://burnandgrain.com/best/best-wood-burning-tool-for-deco-mesh
Publisher: Burn and Grain. Picks are chosen from what each Amazon listing states, not from hands-on tests. Method: https://burnandgrain.com/how-we-pick

Wreath makers cut deco mesh with a hot tool instead of scissors because the mesh is plastic: a heated edge melts through it and seals the cut, so the strands do not fray. A wood burning tool does this with a knife, chisel or other flat-edged tip. What differs between pens is whether a cutting tip is in the box, whether there is a dial to turn the heat down, how long the pen takes to heat, and whether a stand is included, since the pen sits hot between cuts. This guide compares five wood burning tools and one craft hot knife by the wattage, temperature, tip type and tip count their listings state. None was tested by us, and where a listing is silent the table says not stated. For the cutting itself, work on a sheet of glass or a ceramic tile with a metal ruler as a guide, and ventilate the room, because melting plastic gives off fumes. Let the wood burning pen cool before you change tips.

## Picks

### 1. Craft Culture Wood Burning Tool Pen - Craft Burning Tools for Adults & Teens - Wood Burner Kit, Engraver, Carver, Pyrography, Woodburning - Includes 9 Premium Tips - Adjustable Temperature Control

Wattage: not stated; Temp range: Dial, range not stated; Tip type: Solid, knife tip; Tips: 9

A dial-controlled craft burning tool with 9 named tips, including a knife tip and a chisel tip. The listing describes it for wood, leather, fabric and foam, which suits cutting and sealing mesh edges.

What the listing offers:
- The 9 tips are named in the listing and include a knife tip and a chisel tip alongside shading and writing tips.
- Integrated dial on the pen for adjusting the temperature to the project and material.
- Built-in heat shield and a reduced tip-to-grip distance for better handling, per the listing.

Limits to know:
- No wattage and no temperature range are stated, so the dial positions cannot be compared with other pens.
- The bullets do not mention a stand, and deco mesh is not named among the materials.

### 2. Weller Genuine 15 Piece 25W/120V Woodburning Kit | WLIWBK2512A

Wattage: 25 W; Temp range: not stated; Tip type: Solid; Tips: not stated

A 15-piece, 25 W / 120 V woodburning kit from Weller with a stay-cool handle, a heat deflector and an on-board safety rest. A plain plug-in pen for wood and leather embossing, with no dial mentioned.

What the listing offers:
- Wattage and voltage are stated in the title: 25 W at 120 V, in a 15-piece kit.
- Stay-cool handle and a heat deflector that the listing says turns heat away from the hand.
- Integrated on-board rest holds the iron when not in use, and the listing names a quick tip change.

Limits to know:
- The listing mentions no dial and no temperature figure: this is a fixed-heat pen, so shade is controlled by hand speed.
- The bullets do not say how many of the 15 pieces are tips or which tip shapes are included.

### 3. Hot Knife Cutting Tool 30W, Electric Pumpkin Carving Foam Cutter

Wattage: 30 W; Temp range: not stated; Tip type: Hot knife, steel blades; Tips: 10 blades

Not a wood burning pen but a 30 W craft hot knife with 10 carbon steel blades, 2 blade holders and a stand. Its listing names mesh cutting for wreath making, so it is the single-purpose alternative.

What the listing offers:
- The listing names it as a mesh cutter for wreath making, as well as a cutter for foam and soft plastics.
- Stated heat-up: first heat in 1 to 2 minutes and full temperature in 3 to 5 minutes.
- Includes 10 replaceable carbon steel blades, 2 blade holders and a stand.

Limits to know:
- The listing itself says no switch or heat indicator is included: the tool heats whenever it is plugged in.
- It is a hot knife, not a pyrography pen: no wood burning tips are included and no temperature is stated.

### 4. Wood Burning Kit, 23pcs Wood Burning Pen Adjustable Temperature 200-450°C

Wattage: not stated; Temp range: 200-450 C; Tip type: Solid; Tips: 14

A 23-piece kit with a control knob for 200 to 450 C, 14 tips, a stand and an LED power indicator. The listing names fabric and foam among its materials but does not name a knife tip.

What the listing offers:
- Control knob with a stated range of 200 to 450 C, and an LED power indicator on the pen.
- A stand is included, and the listing gives a preheat time of 1 to 3 minutes.
- Fabric, foam, leather and wood are named as materials; the pen has a heat shield and an anti-slip rubber handle.

Limits to know:
- The 14 tips are listed by use (outlining, shading, calligraphy, stamping); a knife or cutting tip is not named.
- Wattage is not stated, and the 200 to 450 C range is the maker's figure, not a calibrated one.

### 5. Plaid wood burning and stencil cutting tool,

Wattage: not stated; Temp range: Up to 750 degrees; Tip type: Solid, stencil cutting; Tips: 4 + 2 stencil cutting

A small set from Plaid: 1 wood burning tool, 1 stand, 4 wood burning tips and 2 stencil cutting tips. The listing says it heats up to 750 degrees and is for adult use only.

What the listing offers:
- Short, clear contents list: one tool, one stand, 4 wood burning tips and 2 stencil cutting tips.
- The listing states the tool heats up to 750 degrees and says to let a tip cool completely before changing it.
- Described for cutting stencils, transferring images and soldering as well as wood burning.

Limits to know:
- No dial is mentioned and wattage is not stated; the 750 figure is given without saying Fahrenheit or Celsius.
- Only 4 wood burning tips are included, and there is no practice wood in the set.

### 6. ACRSIKR Wood Burning Kit, WoodBurning Tool Adjustable Temperature for Adult

Wattage: not stated; Temp range: Adjustable, not stated; Tip type: Solid, hot knife; Tips: 6 + hot knife

A pared-down kit: one adjustable-temperature pyrography pen, 6 wood burning tips, 1 hot knife and a pen holder. It suits a beginner who wants a dial without a box of extras.

What the listing offers:
- The listing describes the pen as adjustable temperature, with a lightweight, ergonomic handle.
- The package is stated plainly: 1 pen, 6 wood burning tips, 1 hot knife and 1 pen holder.
- A one year warranty on the burning tool is stated in the listing.

Limits to know:
- Neither the temperature range nor the wattage is given, and the brand is little known.
- No practice wood, stencils or transfer paper are included, and the bullets give few details on the tip shapes.

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.